Posted in PotPourri

The Bookworm’s Meme: Whats on Your Bookshelf?

Every bookworm worthy of the title has his or her own collection of titles that are either falling apart from the spine with seriously dog-eared pages from being read over and over again or books that were bought because they were interesting at first but proved to be serious disappointments. Here’s my list of favorite, most-used, and even utterly deplored tomes; quite obviously – seeing what a food-mad sort I am – mine seems to be utterly food-centric! :p

Five All-time Favorite Books

  • Chocolat by Joanne Harris
  • Aphrodite: A Memoir of the Senses by Isabel Allende
  • Como Agua Para Chocolate [Like Water for Chocolate] by Laura Esquivel
  • The St. Clare’s Series by Enid Blyton
  • Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto

Five Most-used Books (either manuals, cookbooks, study guides, etc.)

  • How to be a Domestic Goddess by Nigella Lawson
  • The Ultimate Cookie Book published by Tormont
  • Bread: The Breads of the World and How to Bake them at Home by Christine Ingram and Jennie Shapfter
  • The Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook
  • A Witch in the Kitchen by Titania Hardie

Completed Book Series

  • The Belgariad by David Eddings
  • The Malloreon by David Eddings
  • The Elenium by David Eddings
  • The Tamuli by David Eddings
  • Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maude Montgomery
  • Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Five Most Recent Additions to the Library

  • Oishinbo a la Carte: Japanese Cuisine
  • Martha Stewart’s Cookies
  • Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
  • Making Money by Terry Prachett
  • The Lollipop Shoes by Joanne Harris

If you want to join this particular meme, please feel free to post it on your site; be sure to send me a link via the comments section. For this, I would like to tag Rowena of Rubber Slippers in Italy, Garando of Balut & Natto, Joey of 80 Breakfasts, Stel of Baby Rambutan, and Shella of :foodtrip: Happy reading, everyone!

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

4 thoughts on “The Bookworm’s Meme: Whats on Your Bookshelf?

  1. I also have Persepolis (a gift from my daughter) and Making Money.

    I used to buy tons of books until there is no longer space for them. I just borrow from the library and if I really love the book, I buy it.

  2. Thanks for the tag! I have the Persepolis film (animation) but I haven’t found time to watch it yet… but I heard the book was good.
    I’m not much of a book reader, but I will try to fill up the tag! 🙂

  3. Hi Midge, I have a confession to make…..I don’t own many books, because it was just a pain to ship things over here. You know what this means?! I haven’t turned a page in ages (magazines don’t count), and which is why my cookbook collection is narrowed down to a few of those italian “collections” that you get when you purchase the weekly paper.

    I try to catch up on all my reading when I’m stateside. I ♥ the local library and have everything ready for pick up whenever I visit back home. It’s like…one of my efforts to ‘live green’!

  4. will do, this is timely Midge, i’m assembling bookcases almost *as we speak* or as i type.2 down, three to go!..so books are on my mind!
    wow me love Joanne Harris too!!!! i have to get a hold of Lollipop Shoes, i keep forgetting…

Leave a Reply

