Posted in Sweets for the Sweet

Gorgeous, Glorious Cakes!

Isn’t it gorgeous? I saw this at Heavenly Chocolates when I went there for last month’s Chocolate Appreciation 101 workshop. This beautiful showpiece of a cake was done by a young baker of the management team’s acquaintance. It’s all made of fondant and, in practice, can be made edible from top to bottom. The price: a reasonable P 24,000.00 (approximately US$ 500.00) – it is edible all over, after all.

If I were to choose – in the unlikely event that I ever get hitched – I want the cake above. The layers within should be moist dark chocolate ones sandwiching a gooey blend of gianduia and ganache. Beauty and deliciousness in a single package; sheer perfection, if you ask me. πŸ˜‰

Incidentally… My ebook of poems is finally on line and ready for your reading pleasure! Songs for My Wandering Muse is a compilation of poems I wrote from 2004 to 2008. This little tome of love-lornity can be read by clicking here. Constructive criticism appreciated, as always. πŸ˜€
Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

4 thoughts on “Gorgeous, Glorious Cakes!

  1. Moist chocolate cake layers filled with hazelnut paste and ganache is as you said sheer perfection.

    Incidentally I have in draft hazelnut spreads I made 4 months ago that I will be posting later.

  2. @ P24 grand each, they might as well be museum pieces for me πŸ˜€ — they look too good to eat any rate
    *wipes drool from keyboard*

  3. Beatiful! Wish Garandee and I had a wedding cake that was this fabulous. We only had 16 guests, so our cake was as big as that first layer from the top on the first photo. We couldn’t even finish it. hehe…

Leave a Reply

