Posted in Restaurant Hopping

In Search of the Better Burger: Le Bistro

It’s not often that one has to eat a hamburger with a knife and fork, but this particular beastie needs to – no, demands to – be eaten with utensils.

I mean, really: I admit to the crime (or, well, sin) of gluttony, but that doesn’t mean I have to hold this little monster in my hands and cram it down like a barbarian!  (Que barbaridad!)

This is the burger that has been tempting me for ages.  Every time I pass by a Brothers Burger branch, the sight of it on posters seems to beckon to me in pretty much the same way as the chocolates at La Céleste Praline in Joanne Harris’s Chocolat.  It’s the burger that seems to coo: Try me…  Test me…  Taste me…

This, dear SybDive readers, is Le Bistro, the French-inspired designer burger.  What it is: 1/3 of a pound of grilled beef topped with sauteed mushrooms, caramelized onions, a Dijon mustard / mayonnaise compound, and several slices of Brie.  Along with some lettuce and a slice of tomato, this grand-sounding concoction is set between the halves of Brothers’ signature oatmeal bun.

When it comes to your table, there’s the conundrum of just how you’re supposed to eat it.  That’s what the silverware is for, dearies; no sense in trying to make your mouth wider just to accommodate a single bite of this sandwich.  You’re supposed to savor each bite, mind you, not scarf it down mindlessly!

How did I find it when I finally gave in to the craving?  Well, let me give you the bad points first.  The burger was lukewarm when it was delivered to me and the Brie wasn’t the melting, fondue-like ooze depicted in the promotional photos.  Indeed, my favorite French cheese was about as rubbery as cold haloumi or kesong puti.

On the good side, however, the flavors were quite good.  The sharpness of the Dijon was tempered by the mayo and this particular flavor combination was made more interesting by the sweetness of the caramelized onions.  Rubbery as the Brie was, it nevertheless made a harmonious partnership with the mushrooms, adding an earthy-savory counterpoint to the solid, beefy tang of the patty.

Normally, I don’t go back to burgers after I’ve tried them once.  This one, however, deserves one go after another.

Now, if only it would come piping hot to my table the next time I head for Brothers… 

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

3 thoughts on “In Search of the Better Burger: Le Bistro

  1. Lukewarm with the brie not even melted? Now that is sacrilegious. Fat can’t be all that if it ain’t presented in the best way possible. I laud you for being a good sport about it and open to another visit.

  2. brie on burger? I love brie on sandwiches but they put brie on burger? Hmmmm.. willing to try it out of curiosity. 😉
    I wonder whatever happened to Hotshots? They used to be so hot with all those crazy combinations, but somehow they fizzled out…

Leave a Reply

