Posted in Liquid Refreshment, Sweets for the Sweet

Blonde Bombshell: The Coffee Junkie’s Milkshake

I confess to doing something I really shouldn’t have done:
I went off the deep end one recent morning and brewed myself a cup of coffee.
Long-time readers of this blog know that I’m not supposed to have any coffee; the caffeine negates much of my mood stabilizer’s benefits. However, what’s a girl supposed to do if she can’t stay awake at work?! (Granted, of course, that work is boring, a regular drudgery…) But the coffee, you see, is the smallest of my sins in this particular context; wait till you hear what I added to it…
This is a sachet of Chocolate Blanco, Pan de Manila‘s instant white hot chocolate. It’s a particularly smooth drink, rather sweet with a strong hint of vanilla to it; quite creamy, too, as a matter of fact. So, off it goes into the blender with half a glass of cold milk and the fresh cup of coffee. If you think, however, that this is where the debauchery ends, I’m going to have to disappoint you, because…
…I also threw in a good scoop of good ol’-fashioned Magnolia Vanilla ice cream. Now, if you start complaining about me being the very embodiment of culinary evil, I’ll tell you you’re wrong.
Why?
Hey, if I were really evil, I would have used Selecta Coffee Crumble ice cream instead of plain vanilla! :p
For all you java-mad folks out there, here’s the recipe:
Blonde Bombshell Milkshake
  • 1/2 cup cold milk
  • 1 cup brewed coffee
  • 1 sachet Pan de Manila Chocolate Blanco or 2 tablespoons plain malted milk powder
  • 1 scoop vanilla or coffee-flavored ice cream
  • 3 ice cubes
Toss all ingredients into a blender and process until completely liquefied and frothy. Pour into a large tumbler. Serves 1.
Oh, and – for once, just this once – I suffered no ill effects from the caffeine. But that’s probably because I used decaf. :p
Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

2 thoughts on “Blonde Bombshell: The Coffee Junkie’s Milkshake

Leave a Reply

