Posted in Home Baking

A Syrup-drenched Apple Cake

Think cake; think syrup-sodden, nut-studded, caramel apple-d cake. This was what I was thinking a while back when there was a glut of apples in the family fridge and everyone was getting sick of munching on them fresh, dipping slices in honey, and dicing them for salads.
I thought about turning them into caramel apples, but remembered that chewy toffee isn’t exactly the healthiest thing to coat apples in. :p
I thought about baking a batch of apple-spice muffins, but decided against it because I’d just finished baking cupcakes some time earlier. But that did give an idea as I found myself flipping through the pages of Titania Hardie’s Witch in the Kitchen from whence I got the recipe. She had a recipe for a gingered pear upside-down cake that I found most intriguing and, since I had apples and not pears, I decided to do a bit of improv and worked with what I had.
The syrupy ginger-apple upside-down pudding shown above is the end result of that bit of improvisation. It consists of a spicy, buttery cake that’s perfect for soaking up the butter-brown sugar caramel sauce that glazes it. Once baked, the crisp apples for the topping become soft – but not mushy – and moreish.
Next time I bake this, I’ll use pecans or walnuts instead of the cashews. Still, this was a most satisfactory baking experiment. 😀
Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

3 thoughts on “A Syrup-drenched Apple Cake

  1. I know that if I had apple anything for a Thanksgiving dessert, it woulda disappeared off the table. Italians, or at least the ones I hang out with, don’t give a hooha about the extra calories on sweets. In fact, one of them suggested a chocolate fondue and cheese fondue party simultaneously!

  2. walnuts after cashews?
    oh midge, i like them both ! 😀
    ..although i like apples and pies with them, i’m not so sure of anything gingery except if it’s in its mildest form.

Leave a Reply

