Posted in Home Baking, The Grocery Shop-a-holic

Williams-Sonoma: A Bag-ful of Treats from My Aunt

What's in the bag?

My Tita Ging was one of the people who helped mold my palate into the state it is today.  Even now, she’s been helping me broaden my culinary horizons by pointing out new ingredients and possible new sources.

That said, on her last trip to Manila a couple months ago, she surprised me with a large white paper bag from Williams-Sonoma with a few things that she thought would be of great use to me.

And, oh, what things!

WS Brownie Mix

First up: a WS Brownie Mix in a rather fetching rustic drawstring bag.  The words “made with Guittard chocolate and Nielsen-Massey vanilla” sound so magical, don’t they?  😉

Molten chocolate cake mix!

Next up: WS Molten Chocolate Cake Mix.  I’ve been looking for this stuff for ages, so I feel particularly blessed that my aunt got this for me.  It’s supposed to make eight individual-sized cakes that are absolutely fudgy and heavenly.  I’ve been reading the instructions on the side of the box and feel that I can actually go to town with this mix: so many possible variations!

And there was a small tube with two Madagascar Bourbon vanilla beans.  Hmmm…  My experimentation sense is currently tingling…

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

2 thoughts on “Williams-Sonoma: A Bag-ful of Treats from My Aunt

Leave a Reply

