Posted in Restaurant Hopping, Sweets for the Sweet

Golden Spoon: PB in My Fro-yo? Yes, Please.

Here's dessert!

Up until around a month and a half ago, the only yogurt place close to my office was Californiaberry where the only thing I found even remotely palatable was the blueberry frozen yogurt.  If I wanted a Red Mango or White Hat hit of proper fro-yo, I’d have to wait till it was time to go home and I could trek to either Greenbelt III or Rustan’s at the Glorietta.

And then, Golden Spoon opened up at the Paseo Center.

Yogurt purists who like their fro-yo tart and white should stop reading at this point.  But for the rest of you – especially those with a chronic sweet tooth but want to cut down – please do read on.

While Golden Spoon has its own tangy take on classic white fro-yo, its primary stock in trade is dessert-style soft-serve yogurt in a variety of rich, tempting flavors: raspberry cheesecake, boysenberry, peanut butter cup, cake batter, and even one in Belgian chocolate.  Since Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are a personal guilty pleasure of mine, I gamely went with a kiddie serve (P 85.00) of peanut butter cup fro-yo.

Reese's PB chips on the left; dark choc chips on the right

To approximate the tastes of an actual PB cup candy, I had my fro-yo topped with generous helpings of Reese’s peanut butter chips and dark chocolate chips.  (I suspect that Hershey’s Special Dark morsels were used; the flavor was kind of unmistakable.)

The fro-yo itself was creamy and smooth with a rich taste of roasted peanuts.  Paired with the chips, it made a most satisfying dessert.

Oh, and may I add that the yogurt itself was non-fat?  😉  Yes, I know I negated that when I had the chips thrown on, but hey: I don’t feel so guilty.  :p

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

2 thoughts on “Golden Spoon: PB in My Fro-yo? Yes, Please.

  1. although i like my fro-yo to have that tangy taste, i also love golden spoon for combining the velvety creaminess of ice cream and health benefits of yogurt in one. i haven’t tasted that PB fro-yo of golden spoon but i remember having cups of cake batter flavored fro-yo from their shangri la plaza mall branch.

Leave a Reply

