Posted in Restaurant Hopping

A City Girl Eats: Sit Down to a Good Breakfast

Breakfast is served!

Truth be told, I’m a morning person – but I hate the fact that all the rushing and bustling involved in getting ready for the day.  In my case, because I live in southern suburbia, I end up skipping breakfast just to get to Makati on time.  As a result, I end up grabbing something to nosh from a convenience store or a McDonald’s on the way to the office.  Not substantial enough, not tasty enough, and certainly not the way I want to start my day.

But I do have days when I find myself getting into the city early enough – about two hours early – to get a proper breakfast.  You know the sort: the one with the works.

It would be so easy to grab another ‘silog (fried rice and a fried egg plus one’s protein of choice) or pancakes and sausage, but I didn’t feel like any of those.  Instead, I opted for a hefty spread of waffles, beef franks, and a poached egg at The Tea Republic.

Tea infusers and things...

I’ve written about this cosy teashop’s turtle pie and the delicate and soothing peppermint-rose tisane, but I’ve never written about the breakfasts served here despite the fact that they’re among my favorites.

Shown at the top of this post is the shop’s American Breakfast.  It consists of two crisp-edged waffles with a generous chunk of butter and a small dish of maple syrup, one’s choice of coffee or tea, a choice of ham, bacon, or sausage (actually a pair of all-beef frankfurters), and an egg cooked to one’s specifications.

Hot cuppa coffee

I started my meal with the coffee: a rich, fragrant brew with a good balance of bitterness and acidity.  If it’s rather ironic that I had coffee at a teashop, here’s something to think about: Tea Republic also serves wine!  😀  But, again, I digress…

The waffles were quite good and fresh off the griddle.  However, I couldn’t shake off the nagging feeling that they were prepared from a mix as opposed to being made from scratch.  The poached egg was also good, as the white was just solid enough to have bite and the yolk was still nice and molten.  I take issue, however, with the franks: they were tasty, but I think they could have been more flavorful if they came to the table hot instead of tepid!

A good selection of teas

Unlike other tea purveyors, the teas sold at the Tea Republic are loose as opposed to bagged.  Nevertheless, I find them more delicious than those sold in the supermarket: there isn’t any of the odd mustiness you sometimes get from grocery-bought teabags.

The Earl Gray is headier with a wild, citrusy tang from premium bergamot and my favorite peppermint-rose is delicately minty with a gorgeous floral bouquet and a slight tang because of the dried rosehips.  (It also makes a fabulous infusion for truffle-making!)  I’ve been told that the black tea with jasmine is a bestseller, but I’ve yet to try it.

Cushy seats and soft lighting

Satisfied with my meal, I take the last few sips of coffee as I pay the bill and hum to myself as I merge into the milling crowd, and head on over to work.

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

2 thoughts on “A City Girl Eats: Sit Down to a Good Breakfast

  1. that breakfast plate looks nice!
    breakfast is a luxury for me now. we’re rushing every single day going to work; less traffic though. i certainly miss enjoying a decent morning meal!

Leave a Reply

