Posted in Restaurant Hopping

In Which the Blogger Gives Into a Serious Burger Craving…

Open the bundle, dearie...

Considering it’s December and people are in the thick of preparing for the Holidays, I am currently suffering from a serious bout of depression – one that probably stems in part from the fact that I’m physically worn out and it isn’t helping that coals are being heaped on my head because my younger cousin recently got hitched and I’m still single.  Times like these, as wrong as it sounds, I eschew the alcohol and scrap any plans for “retail therapy”.  Instead, I start craving for burgers and fries.

Times like these, however, anything from the ‘Bee or Mickey D’s just won’t cut it.  I need something substantial, flavorful, something I can really sink my teeth into.  In which case, I had to hightail it over to Burger King – not for a standard-issue Whopper, but for a Steakhouse Burger.

Come to mama, baby!

Made with Angus beef, the patty used for this particular edible monster is a touch drier than most commercial beef patties but nevertheless retains a hearty flavor and is most satisfying.  Crunch is added by way of romaine lettuce, a slice of beefsteak tomato, and plenty of sweet, crunchy, deep-fried onions.  The sandwich is finished off with dollops of steak sauce and mayo plus a slice of American cheese.  (No ketchup and no mustard – you want it that way.)

Heftier (and slightly pricier) than other fast-food sarnies, this little monster is guaranteed to stave off even the most deep-seated beef cravings (barring those for steak, naturally).  Of course, I don’t recommend grabbing one on a daily basis – depression notwithstanding – but it works as an occasional pick-me-up.

And, one other thing:

A must-have!

Don’t order plain fries or onion rings with the Steakhouse Burger.  You order the crisscut fries – and get a large box of ’em while you’re at it.

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

5 thoughts on “In Which the Blogger Gives Into a Serious Burger Craving…

  1. Retail therapy never hurt anyone unless they overdose….okay, I couldn’t resist that. I, myself, have been taking small hits of RT every day. This lack of snow is really killing the xmas mood!

Leave a Reply

