Posted in Home Cooking

In Which There’s a Grilled Cheese Sandwich for the Down-at-Heart…

Grilled Threes

It has, alas, been a trying week for yours truly – and it’s bad enough that it’s only Tuesday.

Last night, I actually wanted to give up and throw in the towel; to stop living because life just didn’t seem to be worth it anymore.  Less-talented people have been getting breaks that I want just because they’re either rich or well-connected.  There have been numerous utterly retarded and bigoted faux Catholics (I refer to them as such because of their truly atrocious behavior) throwing brickbats at my brother and my family just because my brother celebrates Mass with such zeal and verve.  I have relatives who have been rather callously telling me off for staying single at age 35 (hey, it isn’t my fault!) and have made fun of me to my face for choosing work over a husband and children.  (Again, it’s not my fault I’m still single.  Why can’t those dreadful, meddlesome women understand that?!)

As a result, I’ve had little appetite and came home rather tear-sodden last night and more than a little worn out by the cruelty, the heartlessness, the general lack of appreciation from the Big Bad World.

There was a splendid pot of nilagang baka keeping warm on the hob when I got home.  Unfortunately, I didn’t feel like having any of it. (Yes, my mood was – and still is at present – that bad.)  So, just to keep my mind off my troubles for a bit, I decided to whip up a grilled cheese sandwich.  But this wasn’t just a garden-variety grilled cheese sarnie; my grief prompted me to pull out all the stops, throw in as much cheese as I wanted – three cheeses, as a matter of fact, and to spice it up magnificently.  Then I cooked the whole thing in butter; butter seems to make anything better, really.

It’s not a very complicated thing to make, but if you’re cooking it to salve a severely battered soul, you need to use the very best ingredients.  In this case, I used rough, wheaty slices of pain complet from Lartizan Boulangerie Francais (The French Baker‘s slightly more upmarket sister-shop), slices of sharp-tasting Edam left over from Christmas, some nutty-tasting mild supermarket Cheddar, and some scraps of Brie which gave my sandwich a bit of a mushroom flavor.  To season it all, some ground black pepper for a bit of fragrance and a generous smear of stone-ground mustard to give it a pleasing tartness.  Finally, don’t even think about frying this sandwich in an unbuttered pan or, worse, cook it in margarine – that would be a crime against your tastebuds and your temper.

I gratefully wolfed it down and, even for a little while, the world seemed just the teensiest bit brighter.

Grilled Threes (Grilled Three-cheese Sarnie)

  • 2 slices pain complet (ordinary whole wheat may be used; rye is also nice)
  • 1 tablespoon whole-grain mustard, divided
  • 2 slices Edam or Gouda cheese
  • 2 slices mild Cheddar or Monterey Jack cheese
  • about 2 tablespoons chopped Brie cheese
  • dash of black pepper

Spread mustard evenly on one side of each slice of bread.  On one slice, pile on the sliced cheeses; sprinkle the other slice with the black pepper, then press the peppered side over the slice with the cheeses.

Melt the butter in a hot skillet big enough to hold your sandwich.  Put the sandwich in and press on it with a metal spatula / pancake turner till crisped up, about a couple minutes give or take.  Flip the sandwich over, press, and cook for an additional 20 – 30 seconds.  Remove from heat, slice in half; serve immediately.

Serves 1.

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

5 thoughts on “In Which There’s a Grilled Cheese Sandwich for the Down-at-Heart…

    1. I don’t feel much like doing restaurant food at the moment. My current state of mind dictates I should do more cooking. It’s probably the only way for me not to kill myself.

  1. Dear Midge/Marga, I have been a lurker in your blog for some time now, content to read your posts. This time I am making an exception. I am turning 40 this year (I’m proud to say), a few days ahead of your birthday. I am still single, and like you, to no fault of my own. I love my job and am quite devoted to it. I am happily single, yet relatives, friends, and even complete strangers ask me why I am still single. Some even want to set me up, not for dates, but for marriage (!!!). Over time, I have learned to come up with some repartees to those intrusive questions on my civil status. I would like to share some with you:
    Answers to the question “Why are you not married yet?”
    1. What, and I have to share my money/properties with some guy? (This of course, works when you do have more than one property)
    2. I’m too young pa.
    3. Di pa naman lagpas sa lotto/bingo.
    4. Why buy the whole pig when all I need is some longganisa?

    promise, the last line leaves them speechless.

Leave a Reply

