Posted in Home Baking, Home Cooking, PotPourri

In Which the Blogger Serves Up a Surprisingly Scrumptious Supper…

What’s in the oven…?

If you’re into the arcane art of Tarot reading, you are probably aware that the Nine of Swords card usually means that the querent – the person for whom the cards are being read – is under a lot of stress and needs to find an outlet for all the tension building up within.  Unfortunately for me, that is exactly how things went for me this past week: too much tension, a great deal of pressure, my body screaming for rest and not getting any of it.  As a result, I ended up throwing a fit at my desk on Thursday, feeling more than a little abandoned, unappreciated, and utterly frustrated because I hadn’t written anything of my own – stories, poems, and even this blog – for over a week.  Believe me when I say that it really wasn’t my finest moment.

But the week is, mercifully, over.  I found myself taking Friday off: did errands, wrapped up some paperwork at Social Security, went to the doctor for a check-up (and ended up with only a marginally clean bill of health, alas), saw my spiritual director for confession, and pretty much did a lot of thinking of what I really wanted to do in life.  And really, all I want to do right now is pack my bags, move to Scotland where it’s wonderfully cold all the time but people are said to be so warm-hearted, and find a career that involves cooking and writing in equal measure.  But, that, I fear is still some way off.  So, till then…

Only the very best cheese buns you’ll ever have…

I came home on Friday afternoon and decided not to mope and, instead, focus what little energy I had left to make quite a smashingly simple yet amazing supper for my family.

To start off, I whipped up some fantastic cheese buns made from a dough meant for foccaccia or schiacciata stuffed with a mixture of mozzarella and mild Cheddar and topped with pepper-spiced Parmesan.  These little beasties are huge – just a little bigger than my fist and have a magnificently crisp crust, a fluffy interior, and a meltingly scrumptious middle.  I daresay these would be just perfect with a good salad, but I was searching for plenty of edible comfort, something only a really good bowl of pasta could give.

And so…

On stressful days, carbo-loading is a must…

This creamy mushroom pesto pasta is all about building things up with the stuff you have in your store-cupboard.  It involves mixing a pack of ready-made pesto with cream, sauteed onions, garlic, and mushrooms and stirring through some pre-cooked ribbon pasta – fettucine or tagliatelle, whatever suits your fancy.

To be very honest, I looked at my family’s faces around the dinner table later that evening and breathed a sigh of relief.  Not only were they happy and satisfied by my cooking; but the dreadful, grueling week was finally over.

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

One thought on “In Which the Blogger Serves Up a Surprisingly Scrumptious Supper…

Leave a Reply

