Posted in Holiday Cuisine, Home Baking

In Which One’s Yuletide Baking Blitz Begins…

I finally found my baby bundt tins!
I finally found my baby bundt tins!

I took my parents and sister out to lunch yesterday over at The Podium in Ortigas and, after raiding the buffet over at YakiMix, we decided to walk off the calories by browsing through the shops.  Serendipitously, I found myself at Living Well on the third floor where I found a bit of baking gear that I’ve been hunting down for ages: mini-Bundt pans.  In this case, I found a rather fetching mini-Bundt tray in the shape of a pumpkin patch.  At P 1,500.00, it was a great buy – and something I was able to use at once.  😀

It was only after I finished putting them in the trays that I realized that they resembled Japanese hanafuda tiles...
It was only after I finished putting them in the trays that I realized that they resembled Japanese hanafuda tiles…

Using my recipe for lemon-vodka drizzle cake (sans the sugary glaze), I ended up with a beautiful bunch of munchy wee cakes.  The cakes browned evenly and were, according to the lucky recipients, rather tasty and moreish.

I left these uniced/unglazed because the patterns on their tops were pretty enough as they were, but I daresay they could be even more fabulous if splodged with some melted white chocolate on top.  😉

It's a present!
It’s a present!

Along with the cakes, my Holiday present-menu for this year will include three kinds of biscotti, shortbread, and possibly some chocolate chunk cookies.  Time to get cracking…

 

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

Leave a Reply

