Posted in Liquid Refreshment, The Grocery Shop-a-holic, The Joy of Snacks

In Which One’s Afternoon Nosh is a Vivid Green on an ORDINARY Thursday…

Everything's green...
Everything’s green…

I don’t know about the rest of you, but today is just an ordinary Thursday for me.  Not for me the whole rigmarole of flowers, candy, and dinners out.  The only use I have for flowers – and, even then, I limit them to roses, jasmine, and lavender – is for making flavored vodka.  Candy is a no-no for me at the moment because I’m still recovering from a very nasty bout of the flu so my throat isn’t really up for anything sweet.  And, much as I’d like to dine out today, I’m not a fan of having to compete with simpering couples – legal ones or otherwise – for a table anywhere.  Besides, how can I enjoy my food when I’m tempted every five minutes to tell the girl at the next table that the pimply-faced would-be-Lothario who took her out to dinner is blatantly lying to her and is making calf’s-eyes at all the other belles in the room?

So let me say it again: today is just an ordinary Thursday.  I have opted to stay indoors and nurse my cold this afternoon with a tall, frosty matcha latte from Starbucks.  This one is made with soy milk rather than my usual low-fat cow’s milk and has the added cachet of having a shot of almond syrup to balance out the bitter-sweetness of the green tea.

And, with my vividly green latte, I have an equally green recent discovery for munching.

Now THAT, my friends, is a CRISP.
Now THAT, my friends, is a CRISP.

Starbucks in the Philippines is currently the only place where you can get Real Handcooked Crisps, super-crunchy potato chips with quirky, funky, and tasty flavors from The Tayto Group in Northamptonshire, England.  The ham-and-English-mustard crisps are scrumptious and taste more of proper smoky bacon than they do of ham (which, in my opinion, is a very good thing).  But it’s the jalapeno-flavored ones that have won their way into my heart.

These crisps have a fresh, almost fruity pepperiness to them.  The taste starts out mild, then it gains strength with every crisp you pop into your mouth – and believe me when I say that you will keep munching no matter how fiery things get – and the only thing that can douse the flames is, of course, the tumbler of creamy green tea close at hand.

Ah, yes; it’s perfect, perfect for an ordinary Thursday.  😉

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

One thought on “In Which One’s Afternoon Nosh is a Vivid Green on an ORDINARY Thursday…

Leave a Reply

