Posted in Holiday Cuisine, Home Baking, Novels and Poetry Online, Novels Online, PotPourri

In Which Holiday Baking Doubles as Quiet Time…

Butter, sugar, peanut butter, chocolate - looks like a plan...
Butter, sugar, peanut butter, chocolate – looks like a plan…

For most people, the act of baking for the Holidays is a seriously stressful and wearying experience.  For me, however, I consider it quiet time for myself; a period of peace and introspection, a time when my hands can be busy while my mind rests for a bit.

It is, to be honest, an interesting time for me.  For starters: I finally quit my job.  I made the conscious decision to start afresh and to renew a tired body and an even wearier mind before setting out to do better things with my life.  The past twelve months were weird, to say the very least; I could not seem to psych myself into becoming enthusiastic about the things I did for work.  I kept getting sick: bouts of what seemed like the flu, then the flu itself, and stomach troubles.  I was a tenser-than-a-coiled-spring mess who found herself trying to fathom what to do next.

Despite a short, depressing spell when I considered giving up writing for good, I have continued to write.  I was able to post a few short stories online this year and the tragedy of Typhoon Yolanda/Haiyan got captured in verse.  My current novel-in-progress, The Rebirth of Meras, continues to spin out, albeit slowly of late.  But the story goes on and I keep writing and building it up.  Perhaps, next year, I’ll be plucky enough to see it published.  It may not earn me a pretty penny, but it’ll help build the foundations for a proper writing career.

And, of course, I have my cooking and baking to keep me relatively sane.  Though I was sort of out of it during my last few weeks at work, cooking and baking have anchored me and enabled me to regain a certain degree of focus.  I’m now considering trying new recipes and writing a proper cookbook – an endeavor that some may consider silly or even stupid, but I consider it a worthwhile challenge.  Everyone else can go bury their heads in the sand!

A finished cookie box for friends...
A finished cookie box for friends…

As Christmas looms on nigh, I have again settled myself in the kitchen.  Creaming butter, whisking batters, kneading dough into submission for scrumptious cookies and brownies to be given to friends and family – it’s all very therapeutic for me.

I can only hope that this Season brings a clearer sense of reason into my life and that the coming year holds a promise of better things to come.

Merry Christmas, everyone.  🙂

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

One thought on “In Which Holiday Baking Doubles as Quiet Time…

Leave a Reply

