Posted in Drinkables, PotPourri

In Which There is a Decadent Cup of Coffee for a Grateful Blogger…

Sometimes, all you need is decadence - DIVINE decadence...
Sometimes, all you need is decadence – DIVINE decadence…

It has been a busy couple of weeks for me, hence the complete and utter lack of new posts for the blog.  Two weeks ago, I chanced upon an opening on my regular online job hunting platform.  I wasn’t expecting a call, of course; I’d done three interviews – no dice; while I got far enough in the application line, no offers were tendered.  But a call came; even then, I wasn’t very optimistic.  In fact, it got to the point that I began to wonder if anyone wanted to hire me – that is how bad things got.  I really felt that I would never work again and I was beginning to feel like a burden to my family and friends – and bother the fact that I left my last job because I’d burned down to a virtually unrecognizable cinder.

But the call came.  Interviews were done; an exam was given, taken, and – to my shock – aced.  For that, I thank God; I thank the people who never gave up on me.  Thanks to them, I managed to scrape through to an opportunity to make a fresh start.

It would be easy to celebrate with a fabulous meal – if I were actually rolling in the dough, of course.  But, since several freelance projects done during my three-month hiatus remain unpaid to this day, all I could afford was a cup of coffee – but, oh!  Such coffee!

I was curious to try Tully’s, a Seattle-based coffee bar that recently opened a franchise in the Philippines.  The offerings are all standard-issue coffee bar treats: espresso-based drinks, ice-blended coffees, smoothies, chai and matcha bevvies.  But what got me excited was the drink at the top of this post: Tully’s intense dark mocha.

The average cafe mocha – known as a bicerin in Turin, Italy where it was first drunk – is, essentially, a latte mixed with a dark chocolate sauce or syrup.  Other variations involve mixing the drink as half-milky coffee and half-hot chocolate.  Either way, I refer to it as sheer, drinkable bliss.

But the intense dark mocha is different.  According to the counter-staff you cannot order it cold.  You are not supposed to drink it cold.  This drink is apparently made by pouring a hot, just brewed shot of espresso over a mound of crushed dark chocolate.  A splash of steamed milk and chocolate syrup finish the drink.  The heat of the coffee melts the chocolate in the process, making the texture smooth and satiny; much like a ganache.  This also amps up the flavors of both the coffee and the chocolate: a rich, bittersweet taste that coats the tongue.  You really have to drink it up as soon as humanly possible, though; the chocolate seizes up and solidifies once the mocha cools completely – of course, for a hard-core chocoholic, that’s never a bad thing.

And so, I raise my cup to everyone who kept the faith.  Here’s to you; here’s to me; here’s to all of us.  Here’s a toast for better things to come.  😀

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

One thought on “In Which There is a Decadent Cup of Coffee for a Grateful Blogger…

Leave a Reply

