Posted in Restaurant Hopping, The Flavors of Asia

In Which There is Lunch for a Tender Tummy…

Fish, veg, LOTS of tofu...
Fish, veg, LOTS of tofu…

I hate getting sick; I especially hate getting sick to the point that I get antibiotics prescribed to kill off whatever bug has been silly enough to get into my system.  Antibiotics wreak havoc on me in a big way: I feel seriously limp, my appetite is pretty much shot to hell, and I can’t seem to keep anything down if I do manage to eat.  For a foodie, can there be anything more dreadful?

But one needs nourishment if one means to make a full recovery, so food is highly necessary.  But there is a catch: no rich sauces or spicy curries, no unctuously beefy gravies, no fried stuff, no sweets (even the fruit is regulated, sod it!), no grilled stuff, no googy molten egg yolks, no raw proteins (I miss eating salmon sushi and sashimi), and no dairy until one’s belly has successfully survived the full seven-day blast of co-amoxiclav. No, no, no.

It is fortunate that today’s steam-table selection over at Hao Chr featured a number of palatable viands that promised not to wreak havoc on my currently wobbly digestion.  Today’s lunch was, thus, steamed spinach with garlic and firm tofu and a mild seafood casserole featuring chunks of savoury cuttlefish, cream dory chunks, spongy tofu, and plenty of mushrooms.  It’s all good, really, and everything is freshly made.  But compared to my usual meals, everything was somewhat bland and unispiring.  Nevertheless, it filled me up and made me feel a little better.

I just wish I didn’t have such a hankering for a rich beef pie with lashings of gravy and a mound of warm, garlicky mash…

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

One thought on “In Which There is Lunch for a Tender Tummy…

Leave a Reply

