Posted in PotPourri, Sweets for the Sweet, The Joy of Snacks

In Which There is a Slice of Carrot Cake on a Blue Day…

Anyone for cake?
Anyone for cake?

Things have been totally crazy in my neck of the woods of late.  On one hand, we have the deadlines that keep piling up left and right; there is a major shared-services conference in this part of the world next week, so there are presentations to make, press releases to write, case studies to consider and plot out.  But, on the other hand – the more sinister hand, to be brutally honest about it – there have also been resignations left and right.  I wish I could say this was a relatively recent thing, but people have been leaving the company in droves since May – and I am not exaggerating when I say that.  Just yesterday, we learned that twenty people had tendered their resignations within the span of a week.  And that, alas, is on top of the other resignations we’ve had to deal with since May.

I thought that my department would be immune to the onslaught of departures, seeing how all of us were shiny and new to the organisation; sadly, not.  Two weeks ago, our resident artist handed in his resignation.  Yesterday, I got a call from an ad agency I applied to in February; apparently, the position I applied for is still open.  Given the sort of hell I’ve had to go through featuring everything from negative feedback to actual physical illness to outright character assassination (where those lobbing the accusations won’t name their witnesses; kind of dodgy, if you ask me), perhaps it is time to rethink what I want in life.  Perhaps it is time to finally face my fears, move on, throw away whatever it is that has held me back, and fly away.

In the meantime, there is cake to munch while one thinks of where to go next.  Specifically, a fat, fluffy wodge of carrot-pineapple cake (P 35.00) from The Happy Bakery.  To be honest, it is not the best carrot cake I’ve ever eaten, seeing how it’s just this side of bland – and you get more of the pineapple than the carrot.  But the texture…the texture is compelling to say the very least: it is toothsome, just firm enough to sink your teeth into and then it melts appealingly in your mouth.  It is also firm enough to dip into a mug of milky coffee, if you’re so inclined.  Plus, seeing how it’s bland, it actually improves the flavour if you soak it in your coffee before gobbling it down.

And so, I nibble my slice of cake as I go through the job postings and schedule my interviews.  I say my goodbyes to those who have filed their resignations; I wish them well and they, knowing full well my situation at the office, return the greetings with as much goodwill and kindness.  May Fate see us all in better circumstances…hopefully soon.

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

2 thoughts on “In Which There is a Slice of Carrot Cake on a Blue Day…

  1. wow, sounds like your work life is hellish at the moment. Sorry to hear. Can’t believe 20 resignations! That is insane. I hope whatever decision you make brings you peace. And huzzah for carrot cake. Practically health food 🙂

Leave a Reply

