Posted in Sweets for the Sweet, The Grocery Shop-a-holic, The Joy of Snacks

In Which One’s Bakery Run Brings in Some Portable Breakfasts…

The end-result of my grand scamper through Tous les Jours
The end-result of my grand scamper through Tous les Jours

I apologise for the radio silence that has marked this blog for the past two weeks.  Much of my time has been occupied by several projects at work, campaigns and advertorials, mostly.  There have also been a few family events that have not really been the happiest, but I’m still up and running and working and, of course, eating.  (I know I’m screwed big time when I don’t have an appetite!)

A recent Saturday solo jaunt pretty much turned into a bakery run when I sauntered into Tous les Jours and began scoping out new things to nosh.  Of late, I’ve been eating some fairly sketchy breakfasts because of the bloody traffic on the way to work.  That said, portable options like sandwiches, rolls, and buns score high with me and I’ve been keeping an eagle-eye out for new things I can happily scarf down with a quick cup of coffee or nosh on the bus ride to work.

A pumpkin muffin and coffee
A pumpkin muffin and coffee

Tous les Jours’ pumpkin muffin is one such treat.  This properly stodgy and brightly orange-coloured muffin – actually more like an incredibly dense, massive cupcake – is studded throughout with bits and bobs of candied pumpkin.  The effect is that of slightly crisp bits of lightly sweet, melon-y pumpkin against the sweet, buttery, moist density of the rest of the muffin.  Delicious enough on its own, but even better when eaten with some cream cheese and a cup of coffee.

I think I may have over-toasted it, but it was lovely nevertheless.
I think I may have over-toasted it, but it was lovely nevertheless.

I also got an almond kouign amann and a black rice bun with black sesame cream cheese.  I haven’t nibbled on the former, but the latter – with its faintly nutty savour and creamy, cheesecake-sweet innards – made for another smashing breakfast with an iced vanilla latte.

So, what do you eat for breakfast when you need to rush?  Or do you skip eating altogether and just gulp down your coffee?

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

One thought on “In Which One’s Bakery Run Brings in Some Portable Breakfasts…

Leave a Reply

