Posted in A Girl at Lunch, Drinkables, Restaurant Hopping

In Which Brunch Had a Neighbourly Spin…

Not quite your usual coffee joint
Not quite your usual coffee joint

It’s been ages since I’ve hung out in Makati – months, as a matter of fact.  Relocating to the Bonifacio Global City has opened up a lot of new culinary experiences, but I’ve missed the place where I started my career in advertising, where I spent the bulk of my career.  Since I was out running an errand for the office in Legaspi Village this morning, it gave me the opportunity to grab a bite at one of the new third-wave cafes that have sprung up in the area.  And I was not disappointed.

Brunch anyone?
Brunch anyone?

Local Edition is one such cafe.  Small, homey yet hip, it is representative of the newer sort of coffee bar: definitely no part of any chains, foreign or local; emphasis on fresh brews for both coffee and tea; both drinks and dishes are prepared just as you order them (no stale meals here!); and a focus on local purveyors.  And believe me when I say it’s all good.

The breakfast bagel (P 215.00) is one example.  You get a just-prepped chive omelet and a slice of ham tucked into a nice, chewy flour bagel.  Properly toasted and dressed with a tangy mayonnaise, it makes for a filling brunch.  And the addition of fresh orange and apple slices adds a healthy touch.

A flat white is always a lovely thing...
A flat white is always a lovely thing…

But the real treat here is the coffee.  A freshly-brewed flat white (P 155.00 for a large) is just the thing you need to get some energy.  Made with Local Edition’s signature Perea Brew blend, it is just strong enough to wake you up but not so strong as to get you all wired.  The bitterness and acidity are balanced just so and the addition of milk makes this creamy, smooth, and just faintly sweet…just the way I like my coffee.

Now, really, I wish they’d open a branch in my neck of the woods, but that would take away much of this coffee bar’s charm.  That said, I’ll be happy to pop in again…well, soon as I find myself running another office errand in Makati!

Local Edition Coffee and Tea: 116 Perea St., Legaspi Village, Makati

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

One thought on “In Which Brunch Had a Neighbourly Spin…

Leave a Reply

